When September Ends


Summer has come and passed
The innocent can never last
wake me up when September ends

like my father’s come to pass
seven years has gone so fast
wake me up when September ends

here comes the rain again
falling from the stars
drenched in my pain again
becoming who we are

as my memory rests
but never forgets what I lost
wake me up when September ends

summer has come and passed
the innocent can never last
wake me up when September ends

ring out the bells again
like we did when spring began
wake me up when September ends

here comes the rain again
falling from the stars
drenched in my pain again
becoming who we are

as my memory rests
but never forgets what I lost
wake me up when September ends

Summer has come and passed
The innocent can never last
wake me up when September ends

like my father’s come to pass
twenty years has gone so fast
wake me up when September ends
wake me up when September ends
wake me up when September ends

This is the last day in September. The september is ending. And,  I remember this song. The title appropriately with today, the last day in September. And, there is always a story behind something. Billie Joe Amstrong wrote this song with the story behind.

billie joes dad died on September 14 when he was 10…it took him 3 days to write the song…bet he never thought it would become some of his finest work..its a tribute to love, family, war, effort and hope… Billie’s dad died when he was just a kid. That’s when he wrote the song, and he picked it up and recorded it for the american idiot album.

This song is Green Day’s most emotional song because of the military tribute throughout the video. The lyrics are really haunting because Billie Joe talks all about his Dad who died when he was 10. The video itself is really emotional. Thanks to the acting by Evan Rachel Wood and Anton Yelchin (the couple throughout the video). Another message that is repeated through the video is Evan Rachel Wood’s quote, ” Don;t ever leave me.” This is because Yelchin is going off to war and Wood doesn’t want him to die. Really emotional story and video.

A very beautiful song. If you pay attention to the lyrics, it becomes even more beautiful.Pay attention to this :

“Summer has come and passed” indicates the passing of time.
“The innocent can never last” This means that Billie is saying that his father was a very kind, innocent man, and that he did not deserve his death.
“Wake me up when September ends” This clearly indicates that this tragic event happened in September, so he does not want to be reminded of it. He does not want to go through this month, for it brings back painful memories.
“Seven years have gone so fast” Self-explanatory.
“Here comes the rain again…” The rain could possibly be a metaphor for tears.
“Drenched in my pain again” This is personally my favorite line for some reason. But it’s self-explanatory.
“As my memories rest, but never forgets what I lost” This means that this doesn’t bring back as much pain anymore, but he isn’t quite over it, and he will never forget his father.
“Ring out the bells again, Like we did when Spring began” He is wishing that his father was here, or that he could go back to those happy spring days with his dad.
“Twenty years have gone so fast” Time jump from 7 years to 20 years. This means that many years have gone by.

The full dialogue on video :

Boy – People get old and you know how things change and situation change and what I want is just. I want these moments and my feelings for you the way you look , the way I look at you I just want it to last forever U know.

Gurl- No matter what we always have each other and nothing can change that but I just wanted you to know
No matter what you will always have somebody here for you.. Always .. I am never going to leave you… never going to leave you .. I LOVE YOU

Gurl – Dont ever leave me , Dont Ever Leave me ..

Boy- I wont , I wont.

“You know they say life is short…they say you wake up one day and…and on that day…all of your dreams and…everything you wished for and wanted are… gone just like that”

the videoand the blog (the lyric meaning)

3 thoughts on “When September Ends

    • dulu waktu ke himpunan, sempat ketemu ma dirut on air (sekarang mantan ya). dia lagi nyari lirik ni lagu. trus, di akhir september tahun ini, ketemu deh makna liriknya. klo di notes FB, dia si mantan, saya tag..

      Suka

Tinggalkan Balasan

